2025 NFDA data
The growth of cremation services in the United States
NFDA’s 2025 Cremation and Burial Report projects a 63.4% U.S. cremation rate in 2025 and 82.3% by 2045. What those figures mean for families, plus FTC Funeral Rule rights. Education only.
Cremation by ZIP is not a funeral home, crematory, or cemetery. We do not cremate, bury, or arrange services.
Quick summary
The National Funeral Directors Association’s October 6, 2025 release of the 2025 Cremation and Burial Report projects a U.S. cremation rate of 63.4% in 2025 — more than double the projected burial rate of 31.6%. NFDA projects cremation at 82.3% of U.S. dispositions by 2045, with burial falling to 13.0%. Those percentages describe how remains are disposed of, not what any funeral home charges. Families still have a right to an itemized General Price List, an alternative container for direct cremation, and an urn purchased elsewhere.
Introduction
Cremation is now the usual U.S. disposition in industry projections, not a rare alternative. That change can surprise relatives who still remember when burial was the default. It can also confuse a family that treats a national percentage as a price. A high cremation rate does not mean a low General Price List.
This guide explains the figures NFDA published with its 2025 Cremation and Burial Report, how they differ from older 2024-report summaries on this site, and which Federal Trade Commission Funeral Rule rights apply when you sit down with a licensed provider. It is consumer education. Cremation by ZIP does not cremate, bury, or arrange services, and this article is not legal advice for any state.
If you need a typical local cost window after the trend:
In this guide
- What NFDA published for 2025 and 2045
- The long view: from about 5% to a majority
- What a cremation rate is not
- Planning choices that often travel with cremation
- FTC Funeral Rule rights that still apply
- Questions to take to a licensed provider
- How to use this site after you read the rates
- FAQ
- People Also Ask
- Sources
What NFDA published for 2025 and 2045
On October 6, 2025, the National Funeral Directors Association released its 2025 Cremation and Burial Report. The public news release states that the U.S. cremation rate is projected to reach 63.4% in 2025, more than double the burial rate of 31.6%. The same release projects that by 2045, cremation will account for 82.3% of dispositions, while burials will decline to 13.0%.
Those leftover percentage points are “other” dispositions — donation, entombment, removal from the state, and similar categories that NFDA does not fold into the cremation or burial columns. They are not a pricing remainder.
NFDA also projects that all 50 states and the District of Columbia will surpass a 50% cremation rate by 2035. That is a coverage statement (every state above half), not a published national rate for 2035. An earlier NFDA 2024 report had projected a U.S. cremation rate of 74.7% in 2035 and 82.1% in 2045. We cite the 2024 74.7% figure only as historical context from that older report. We do not round it up or treat it as a 2025-report national number.
The 2025 release also projects Canadian cremations at 91.2% by 2045. That is Canada, not a U.S. ZIP.
| Year | Cremation (projected) | Burial (projected) | What the public release says |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 63.4% | 31.6% | Cremation more than double burial |
| 2035 | Not published as a single U.S. % | Not published as a single U.S. % | All 50 states and D.C. above 50% cremation |
| 2045 | 82.3% | 13.0% | Cremation the large majority of dispositions |
Source: NFDA news release dated October 6, 2025. Percentages are national projections, not a funeral home’s General Price List.
The long view: from about 5% to a majority
Cremation was uncommon in the United States for most of the twentieth century. Historical tables circulated with Cremation Association of North America (CANA) data put the U.S. cremation rate at 4.94% in 1972 and 5.69% in 1973 — the first year clearly above 5%. That is the honest basis for the familiar line that cremation was “about 5%” in the early 1970s.
CANA’s later annual reports track a different series than NFDA’s member-oriented Cremation and Burial Report. The two organizations do not always publish the same percentage for the same year. When this site cites a rate, we name the report year. For current U.S. projections on this page, we use the NFDA 2025 public release. For the early-1970s starting point, we use the CANA historical table.
The first dedicated U.S. crematory opened in 1876 in Washington, Pennsylvania. Nearly a century passed before the national rate crossed 5%. Growth after that point was much faster. A long history still does not set today’s local bill.
What a cremation rate is not
A cremation rate counts dispositions. A General Price List counts dollars. A county can sit well above 60% cremation and still have funeral homes whose direct-cremation line is above the national midpoint this calculator uses.
This site’s ZIP calculator still uses NFDA 2023 member General Price List study midpoints — $2,750 for direct cremation with a funeral-home container, $6,280 for a funeral with viewing and cremation, and $8,300 for a funeral with viewing and burial (vault not included) — then applies a documented ZIP multiplier. Those dollars come from a price-list study, not from the 2025 rate report.
Direct cremation is usually the lowest funeral-home package on a list. A funeral with viewing, then cremation, can approach some burial packages before cemetery charges. Families who hear “cremation is growing, so it must be cheap” are mixing a trend with a package.
Planning choices that often travel with cremation
Growth in cremation share is partly about timing. Adult children may live in other states. A later memorial can wait until people can travel. That flexibility is a scheduling reason, not a price reason, and it is not a requirement.
Cremation also changes what “a physical memorial” can mean. Some families keep an urn at home. Some buy cemetery interment of the urn later. Some scatter only where the law and the landowner allow it. This article does not state ash-scattering or cemetery rules for any state. Ask the cemetery, the land manager, and the licensed provider.
A comparison of method is useful only at a high level. The bill is still the itemized list.
| Topic | Cremation (typical planning note) | Burial (typical planning note) |
|---|---|---|
| Timing of a gathering | A memorial can be scheduled later; the cremation itself is a separate appointment | The funeral and burial are often scheduled closer together |
| Funeral-home package types | Direct cremation; memorial without the body present; funeral with viewing then cremation | Funeral with viewing and burial; cemetery plot, vault, and marker are often separate bills |
| Physical memorial | Urn, niche, grave for the urn, or other arrangements the family chooses and the law allows | Grave, marker, and cemetery rules set by the cemetery |
| What this site will not invent | No ZIP-specific cremation price, water-cremation claim, or scattering-law claim on this page | No plot price and no cemetery fee schedule on this page |
Use the cremation-versus-burial guide for the package comparison. Confirm every dollar on a local General Price List and, if needed, a cemetery price list.
- A later memorial is optional. It is not included just because cremation is common.
- Cemetery interment of an urn is a cemetery purchase, not a line the national cremation rate explains.
- An urn bought elsewhere is a consumer right under the Funeral Rule; it is not a product this site sells.
FTC Funeral Rule rights that still apply
The Federal Trade Commission Funeral Rule is a consumer-protection rule for most funeral providers. It is not a cremation-rate rule. It still applies when cremation is the majority choice. Three rights matter on almost every cremation shopping call.
First, you have a right to an itemized General Price List. You may see prices for the goods and services the funeral home offers, and you may pick only the items you want, with some legal exceptions the provider should explain. A packaged “cremation special” does not erase the right to see the itemized list.
Second, if you choose direct cremation, the provider must make an alternative container available. You do not have to buy a casket for direct cremation. The alternative container is an unfinished wood box, fiberboard, or similar container offered for cremation — not a decorative urn.
Third, you may use an urn you purchase elsewhere. A funeral home may not require you to buy its urn as a condition of the cremation. Ask them to state any “cash advance” or handling fee in writing on the itemized statement.
| Ask for | Why it matters |
|---|---|
| General Price List (itemized) | You can compare packages and decline items you do not want |
| Direct cremation price with an alternative container | Casket is not required for direct cremation |
| Permission to use an urn purchased elsewhere | The provider cannot force its urn as a condition of service |
| Written statement of goods and services selected | You can see each charge before you pay |
Summarized from FTC consumer and Funeral Rule guidance. State funeral boards may add rules. This is not legal advice.
Questions to take to a licensed provider
Use this list on the phone or in the arrangement office. It is a shopping list, not a script that binds any firm. Cremation by ZIP cannot quote a funeral home’s General Price List for them.
- May I have your current General Price List in writing, including the direct-cremation line?
- What is the price of direct cremation when we use your alternative container?
- If we bring an urn purchased elsewhere, what — if anything — do you charge to handle it?
- Which lines on the list are required by law in this state, and which are optional?
- Does this quote include the medical examiner or coroner fee, death certificates, and clergy — or are those cash advances?
- If we want a memorial later, which of those charges are on your list versus a venue we hire ourselves?
How to use this site after you read the rates
Start with the ZIP calculator for a typical local window. Then open the direct-cremation or cremation-versus-burial guide if you are still choosing a package. Then call licensed providers and ask for the General Price List.
This site lists licensed firms only where a person has checked the legal name and address. Empty ZIPs still get the calculator. A missing listing is not a claim that cremation is unavailable.
- Treat 63.4% (2025) and 82.3% (2045) as national projections from NFDA’s 2025 public release.
- Treat the calculator dollars as NFDA 2023 midpoint estimates after a ZIP multiplier — not a quote.
- Treat the Funeral Rule rights as the shopping rules, not as a discount.
- Come back to this page when later NFDA or CANA reports replace these dated figures.
Frequently asked questions
What is the U.S. cremation rate in 2025 according to NFDA?
NFDA’s October 6, 2025 news release for the 2025 Cremation and Burial Report projects a U.S. cremation rate of 63.4% in 2025, more than double the projected burial rate of 31.6%. That is a disposition share, not a typical bill.
What does NFDA project for 2045?
The same 2025 release projects that cremation will account for 82.3% of U.S. dispositions by 2045, while burials decline to 13.0%. Projections can change in later annual reports.
Did NFDA publish a national U.S. cremation rate for 2035 in the 2025 release?
The 2025 public release does not state a single national 2035 percentage. It states that all 50 states and the District of Columbia are projected to surpass 50% cremation by 2035. The 2024 NFDA report had projected 74.7% nationally in 2035. This article does not treat that older projection as a 2025-report figure.
Can I use an urn I buy somewhere else?
Yes. FTC Funeral Rule guidance is that you may provide an urn purchased elsewhere. A funeral home may not require you to buy its urn as a condition of the cremation. Ask them to itemize any handling fee.
Do I have to buy a casket for direct cremation?
No. For direct cremation, the Funeral Rule requires the provider to make an alternative container available. You may also provide a suitable container. Confirm the exact lines on that firm’s General Price List.
People Also Ask
Is a high cremation rate the same as a low funeral price?
No. Rates measure how remains are disposed of. Prices appear on a licensed provider’s General Price List. A high-rate state can still have high local packages.
Does Cremation by ZIP provide cremation because the rate is rising?
No. We do not cremate, bury, or arrange services. The rate is context for the calculator and the directory.
Where can I compare cremation and burial packages?
Use this site’s cremation-versus-burial guide, then confirm both itemized lists with licensed providers. Cemetery plot, vault, and marker charges are often billed by the cemetery, not the funeral home.
Does this article give ash-scattering or water-cremation rules for my state?
No. Those rules are state- and site-specific. This national explainer does not localize them. Ask the licensed provider and the land or water authority.
Sources
- NFDA, “NFDA Releases 2025 Cremation & Burial Report” (October 6, 2025)
- NFDA statistics hub
- NFDA 2025 Cremation & Burial Report trade release (PDF)
- Montana Legislature archive copy of the 2025 NFDA Cremation and Burial Report (PDF)
- CANA 2025 Annual Statistics Report preview (PDF)
- CANA historical cremation percentages (U.S. table including 1972–1973)
- FTC, “Shopping for Funeral Services” / Funeral Rule consumer rights
- FTC, “Complying with the Funeral Rule” (business guidance, consumer-right detail)
National rates in this article come from NFDA’s public October 6, 2025 news release for the 2025 Cremation and Burial Report. The 2025 release does not publish a single national cremation percentage for 2035; it states that all 50 states and the District of Columbia are projected to surpass a 50% cremation rate by 2035. We therefore do not invent a 2035 national rate. Historical “about 5%” context uses CANA historical tables (4.94% in 1972; 5.69% in 1973). FTC rights are summarized from FTC consumer guidance, not from a state funeral board. This page is not legal advice and is not a local General Price List. We are not a funeral home. Review NFDA and CANA reports at least yearly, because industry figures are updated annually. Do not treat this article as location-specific pricing, authorization, water-cremation, or ash-scattering law.
Have a question?
Ask on the contact form — no account needed. We can point you to the calculator or a licensed-provider search. We cannot quote a funeral home’s General Price List for them.